loriot_2011#

V. Loriot, P. Bejot, W. Ettoumi, Y. Petit, J. Kasparian, S. Henin, E. Hertz, B. Lavorel, O. Faucher and J.-P. Wolf, Laser Phys. 21, 1319 (2011); preprint arXiv:1011.0841 (2010)

Source record · Catalogue · Review register

DOI: 10.1134/S1054660X11130196

Source kind: measurement

Recorded technique: A defence of the higher-order Kerr (HOKE) measurement of loriot_2009 (same apparatus: 90 fs, 800 nm, degenerate pump-probe transient birefringence, f = 20 cm, 4 degree crossing, 0.1 bar static cell for the HOKE, 1 bar for n2): the intensity calibration, the fitting protocol, the volume-effect corrections, and a discussion of plasma, ion and two-beam-coupling artefacts; plus filamentation simulations.

Materials in structured entries: Ar, Ar+, N2, N2+, O2, O2+

Dataset quantities: ionization_energy

Contents: 6 datasets; 0 formulas.

Curation notes#

The library copy is the arXiv preprint (arXiv:1011.0841v1, 3 Nov 2010; the library’s bibliographic record is the arXiv DOI 10.48550/arxiv.1011.0841); the journal version, Laser Phys. 21, 1319 (2011), DOI 10.1134/S1054660X11130196, is cited in these terms by Bejot et al. 2013 (ref. 12) and Richter et al. 2013 (ref. 22) and is not in the library. The paper prints no new third-order value; its only datasets are the ionisation potentials of Table II (added 2026-09-26, TC-439; below).

What it adds to loriot_2009 (pages of the preprint): - Intensity: from the fit of the post-pulse alignment signal with an effective intensity I_eff = I_peak / 1.7 (Eq. 2, p. 5), cross-checked against beam waist, energy (+-5 %) and duration (+-10 %); ‘an uncertainty of +-10 % (at 3 standard deviations)’ (p. 6). P = 1.8 GW, nonlinear phase below 0.1 (N2) and 0.14 rad (O2). - n2 (p. 7): Eq. (3) S_homo ~ I_pr (x) [Delta n_rot + (2/3) n2^cross I]^2; ‘The coefficients n2^cross = 2 x n2, with n2 the standard self-induced Kerr index, therefore describes the non-linear refractive index due to cross-Kerr effect’; n_2,par = 3 n_2,perp, valid when intrapulse alignment is negligible (orientational Kerr contribution below 5 % at the highest intensity, p. 7). Table 1 of loriot_2009 comes from 50, 30 and 8 low-intensity records (I_eff < 1 TW/cm^2) in N2, O2 and Ar (p. 8); Delta alpha = 4.6 and 7.25 au for N2 and O2. - HOKE (p. 8-10): Eq. (4) with (2j/(2j + 1)) n_2j^cross I^j, ‘We have generalized the relation n_2j,par = (2j + 1) x n_2j,perp ... verified for n2 and n4, to higher orders’; volume-effect correction factors c_2j = effective / true HOKE term (Table I, an equation-array table: c4 1.04, c6 1.30, c8 1.45, c10 2.66); n4 fitted from 14, 10, 11 records at I_eff <= 27, 20, 24 TW/cm^2 (N2, O2, Ar), n6 and n8 together from 24, 10, 26 records at higher intensity, n10 only for Ar. - Artefacts (p. 11-15): plasma birefringence rejected (Ar signal returns to zero after the pulses, no temporal asymmetry), ion chi(3) from Sprangle’s (IP_neutral / IP_ion)^3 (Table II: IP 15.6/27.12, 12.07/24.14, 15.8/27.6 eV and ratios 0.19, 0.125, 0.185 for N2, O2, Ar) at most 0.2 %, two-beam coupling rejected (heterodyne detection, symmetric time profile).

Claim and status: the paper maintains that the saturation and inversion of the instantaneous index are real and that HOKE dominates filament regularisation for short pulses at long wavelengths. Refuted: Wahlstrand et al. 2013 (wahlstrand_2013) show that the plasma grating of a degenerate pump-probe geometry produces the negative birefringence at these intensities, the time-symmetry argument failing for chirped pulses (their Fig. 4 and p. 8-9); Wahlstrand et al. 2012 and 2018 measure a response linear in intensity up to and beyond the ionisation threshold. Not to be used.

No curated gas beyond N2, O2 and Ar; air is discussed only in the simulations.

TABLE II (preprint p. 14; image checked): ‘Ionization potentials of neutral and ionized nitrogen, oxygen, and argon’: the molecules N2 and O2 and the atom Ar (not the N and O atoms), IP_neutral 15.6, 12.07, 15.8 eV and IP_ion 27.12, 24.14, 27.6 eV, extracted as the ionisation energies of N2, O2, Ar and of the cations N2+, O2+, Ar+ (‘check’: no source is cited, and no kind for the molecules). The third row, chi(3)_ion/chi(3)_neutral = (IP_neutral/IP_ion)^3 (Eq. 6, after Sprangle et al., ref. 36): 0.19, 0.125, 0.185, an estimate, not extracted.

Recorded bibliographic identity status: VALIDATED_WITH_WARNINGS. This concerns identification of the source; it does not establish the scientific correctness of its contents.

Datasets#

loriot_2011/ip_N2#

{
  "id": "ip_N2",
  "material": "N2",
  "file": "N2/loriot_2011__ip_N2.csv",
  "table": "tbl_701638991ad8",
  "quantity": "ionization_energy",
  "unit": "eV",
  "abscissa": "none",
  "use": "check",
  "parameters": {
    "kind": "not stated"
  }
}

Table II (preprint p. 14), IP_neutral: the ionisation potential used in Sprangle et al.’s estimate Eq. (6) of the ions’ chi(3); no source is given. Adiabatic or vertical is not stated.

loriot_2011/ip_N2+#

{
  "id": "ip_N2+",
  "material": "N2+",
  "file": "N2+/loriot_2011__ip_N2+.csv",
  "table": "tbl_701638991ad8",
  "quantity": "ionization_energy",
  "unit": "eV",
  "abscissa": "none",
  "use": "check",
  "parameters": {
    "kind": "not stated"
  }
}

Table II (preprint p. 14), IP_ion: the ionisation potential of N2+ (to N22+; the final state is not stated), used in Eq. (6); no source is given. Adiabatic or vertical is not stated.

loriot_2011/ip_O2#

{
  "id": "ip_O2",
  "material": "O2",
  "file": "O2/loriot_2011__ip_O2.csv",
  "table": "tbl_701638991ad8",
  "quantity": "ionization_energy",
  "unit": "eV",
  "abscissa": "none",
  "use": "check",
  "parameters": {
    "kind": "not stated"
  }
}

Table II (preprint p. 14), IP_neutral: the ionisation potential used in Sprangle et al.’s estimate Eq. (6) of the ions’ chi(3); no source is given. Adiabatic or vertical is not stated.

loriot_2011/ip_O2+#

{
  "id": "ip_O2+",
  "material": "O2+",
  "file": "O2+/loriot_2011__ip_O2+.csv",
  "table": "tbl_701638991ad8",
  "quantity": "ionization_energy",
  "unit": "eV",
  "abscissa": "none",
  "use": "check",
  "parameters": {
    "kind": "not stated"
  }
}

Table II (preprint p. 14), IP_ion: the ionisation potential of O2+ (to O22+; the final state is not stated), used in Eq. (6); no source is given. Adiabatic or vertical is not stated.

loriot_2011/ip_Ar#

{
  "id": "ip_Ar",
  "material": "Ar",
  "file": "Ar/loriot_2011__ip_Ar.csv",
  "table": "tbl_701638991ad8",
  "quantity": "ionization_energy",
  "unit": "eV",
  "abscissa": "none",
  "use": "check",
  "parameters": {
    "kind": "adiabatic"
  }
}

Table II (preprint p. 14), IP_neutral: the ionisation potential used in Sprangle et al.’s estimate Eq. (6) of the ions’ chi(3); no source is given. For an atom the adiabatic and vertical energies coincide.

loriot_2011/ip_Ar+#

{
  "id": "ip_Ar+",
  "material": "Ar+",
  "file": "Ar+/loriot_2011__ip_Ar+.csv",
  "table": "tbl_701638991ad8",
  "quantity": "ionization_energy",
  "unit": "eV",
  "abscissa": "none",
  "use": "check",
  "parameters": {
    "kind": "adiabatic"
  }
}

Table II (preprint p. 14), IP_ion: the ionisation potential of Ar+ (to Ar2+; the final state is not stated), used in Eq. (6); no source is given. For an atomic ion the adiabatic and vertical energies coincide.

Formulas#

No formulas are recorded.

Corrections#

No dataset errata are recorded in this source record.

Formula corrections, where recorded, appear with their formulas above. Curation notes may also discuss corrections or unresolved interpretation. Consult the review register for the checks and decisions.