frost_1967 ========== D\. C\. Frost, C\. A\. McDowell, J\. S\. Sandhu and D\. A\. Vroom, "Photoelectron Spectrum of Sulfur Hexafluoride at 584 A", J\. Chem\. Phys\. 46, 2008 \(1967\) `Source record `__ · :doc:`Catalogue ` · :doc:`Review register ` DOI: `10\.1063/1\.1840979 `__ **Source kind:** measurement **Recorded technique:** He I \(21\.21 eV, 584 A\) photoelectron spectroscopy with a spherical\-grid retarding\-potential spectrometer\: the integrated photoelectron stopping curve \(current against 21\.21 eV minus the retarding voltage, Fig\. 1\), whose steps give the ionisation thresholds \(pp\. 2008\-2009\)\. **Materials in structured entries:** SF6 **Dataset quantities:** ionization\_energy **Contents:** 2 datasets; 0 formulas. Curation notes -------------- A letter, J\. Chem\. Phys\. 46, 2008\-2009 \(1967\)\. The library PDF holds the publisher's cover sheet \(PDF page 1\), the end of the preceding letter on GeH3SiH3 and the start of this one \(PDF page 2 = p\. 2008\), this letter's end and the start of the next one, on xanthate complexes \(PDF page 3 = p\. 2009\)\. Identity checked on p\. 2008\. THE VALUES \(p\. 2009\)\: 'There are four ionization thresholds clearly in evidence, and these occur at 15\.35, 16\.71, 18\.11, and 19\.50 eV \(standard deviation 0\.02 eV for each\)\.' They are thresholds \(onsets\) of the integrated retarding\-field curve; the paper calls them neither adiabatic nor vertical and prints no band maxima, so \`kind\` is 'not stated'\. An onset is the energy where the band starts, at or above the adiabatic energy for a band with a weak origin\. The paper assigns no ionic states\. The first threshold \(15\.35 eV\) is the NIST WebBook's adiabatic SF6 value \(nist\_webbook\_2026/adiabatic\_SF6\)\. COMPARISONS QUOTED \(p\. 2009; notes, not datasets\)\: 'The first two correspond with SF5\+ photoionization thresholds obtained by Dibeler and Walker \[J\. Chem\. Phys\. 44, 4405 \(1966\)\] and the third with what appears to be a definite increase in their photoionization efficiency at about 18\.2 eV'; the relative maximum intensities of 'the 15\.29 and 16\.53 eV processes as measured by Dibeler and Walker are about 1\:2, whereas ours are about 1\:3'\. Fox and Curran's electron\-impact \(RPD\) SF5\+ thresholds 15\.85, 17\.0 and 18\.0 eV \[J\. Chem\. Phys\. 34, 1595 \(1961\)\]\. The 19\.50 eV process 'could either be due to SF4\+ formation or to another SF5\+ threshold'\. The SF6\+/SF5\+ photoion ratio is 3e\-4 \(p\. 2008\), so SF6\+ is not observed directly and the ionisation energy is deduced from the photoelectron kinetic energy\. **Recorded bibliographic identity status:** VALIDATED\_WITH\_WARNINGS. This concerns identification of the source; it does not establish the scientific correctness of its contents. Datasets -------- frost\_1967/first\_threshold\_SF6 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ .. code-block:: text { "id": "first_threshold_SF6", "material": "SF6", "table": "text", "quantity": "ionization_energy", "unit": "eV", "abscissa": "label", "use": "primary", "parameters": { "kind": "not stated", "final_state": "the ground state of SF6+ (first threshold; not assigned by the paper)" }, "uncertainty": { "column": true, "level": "1 sigma" } } 1 inline points in the source record. p\. 2009\: the first of 'four ionization thresholds \.\.\. at 15\.35, 16\.71, 18\.11, and 19\.50 eV \(standard deviation 0\.02 eV for each\)'\. An onset of the photoelectron stopping curve; the kind is not stated by the paper \(record notes\)\. frost\_1967/higher\_thresholds\_SF6 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ .. code-block:: text { "id": "higher_thresholds_SF6", "material": "SF6", "table": "text", "quantity": "ionization_energy", "unit": "eV", "abscissa": "label", "use": "primary", "parameters": { "kind": "not stated", "final_state": "excited states of SF6+, not assigned by the paper (the row's threshold)" }, "uncertainty": { "column": true, "level": "1 sigma" } } 3 inline points in the source record. p\. 2009\: the second to fourth thresholds \(standard deviation 0\.02 eV each\), to excited states of SF6\+ that the paper does not assign\. The 19\.50 eV process may be SF4\+ formation \(p\. 2009\)\. Kind not stated \(onsets\)\. Formulas -------- No formulas are recorded. Corrections ----------- No dataset errata are recorded in this source record. Formula corrections, where recorded, appear with their formulas above. Curation notes may also discuss corrections or unresolved interpretation. Consult the :doc:`review register ` for the checks and decisions.